Petrified Wood Gallery
Located at 418 East 1st, Ogallala
Phone: (308) 284-9996
Open Year Round
8:00 – 4:00 MDT Monday-Saturday Memorial Day – Labor Day (Also open summer Sundays by appointment)
Call ahead for fall, winter and spring seasonal hours.
This “little gem” of a gallery all began with a couple of rockhounds.
Born in 1928, twin brothers Howard and Harvey Kenfield have always done everything together. They were drafted into the Korean War at the same time, served in the same regiment, returned to their hometown, got married, started work at the same local manufacturing plant, and began collecting rocks and artifacts in their spare time. In 2000, the Kenfield brothers donated their amazing collection for display, with the stipulation that it remain in Ogallala.
The collection contains ancient woods, gemstones, fossils, and Native American arrowheads and artifacts. Some of the most unique items include artwork and music boxes constructed of petrified wood pieces. The gift shop features artwork, jewelry and other treasures from local and regional artists.
Located at 418 East 1st, Ogallala, the gallery has doubled its Native American display with an arrowhead collection on loan from Pete Peters, and a contemporary art collection on loan from Fr. Art Faesser. And on any given day, you might run into Howard, Harvey or both down at the Gallery. They love sharing stories.
Visitors to the Gallery will also see displays from visiting artists, and exhibits on loan from other collectors.
The gift shop contains unique regional artwork, gift items, hand crafted jewelry, and a selection for young rockhounds.
Please contact curator Kathy Zeller with any questions at 308-284-9996.